Staff Students Gallery Alumni

Students: Stay Safe on YouTube

Updated: Tue 17 Oct 2017   Share: Share on facebookShare on TwitterShare on MySpaceShare by Email

Useful Links

Youtube Safety Centre: http://www.youtube.com/yt/policyandsafety/en-GB/safety.html

Report Abuse on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/reportabuse

Youtube Resources for Parents: https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/2802272?hl=en&ref_topic=2803240

Tips for Youtube

You must be aged 13 or over to create a Youtube account. It is against the Youtube terms and conditions to lie about your age! If you are aged under 13, you cannot create a YouTube account or upload videos. However you can watch videos that others have uploaded.

  Here are some useful tools and friendly tips for staying safe on YouTube.

  • Know what type of content to film: When filming videos of your friends, classmates, or others, remember that they should never be sexually suggestive, violent, or dangerous. You must never film videos of another person without their permission to do so.
  • Remember “The Grandma Rule”: Is what you’re filming or posting something you’d want your grandmother, boss, future employer, parents, or future in-laws to see? If not, it’s probably not a great idea to post it.
    • Once a video has been posted online, you never know who might see it. If it’s copied or reposted, you might not be able to remove every copy.
  • Prevent dangerous or uncomfortable situations: Don’t post something just because someone else asked you to. Also, please don’t try to meet anyone you have "met" online without consulting with a trusted adult first.
  • Use YouTube’s privacy features: YouTube has features to help you limit who can see the videos you post. Protect your privacy by setting personal videos to 'private' or 'unlisted.'

Block Someone from commenting on your YouTube channel

When you block a user from commenting on your YouTube channel, they can't comment on your videos or channel. They also can't contact you through private messages.

To block someone:

  • 1. Sign in to your YouTube account.
  • 2. Go to the channel page of the user you want to block. It should have a URL like www.youtube.com/user/NAME or www.youtube.com/channel/NAME.
  • 3. Click the About tab, then click the flag icon https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/AW-Bb95Gkb2Nqpv8yF5KR0LPsh2bD3yEx3M3_MqJVcgfMxBVwY4LJ6iQeIS_Zw=h18.
  • 4. Click Block user.

If you feel you’re being bullied or harassed by someone, please see more information on how to protect yourself from Bullying and Harassment.

Bullying on Youtube

Bullying may include:

  • Posting abusive videos, comments, messages
  • Revealing someone’s personal information
  • Filming videos of someone without their permission
  • Deliberately posting content in order to humiliate someone
  • Making hurtful and negative comments/videos about another person
  • Making sexual comments about another person

    If you are being bullied on Youtube, the most important thing to do is report it to a parent, family member, teacher or an adult you trust. They will be able to help you to stop the bullies.

 Tips and advice

  • Pause before you post: Think seriously about how you may be perceived online and do not post anything that may compromise your reputation or safety.
  • Speak up: If you friends are involved in bullying online, tell them to stop and voice your opinion against bullying if you see it on the site.
  • Tell an adult if you are worried or upset about someone else’s actions towards you online.
  • Try deleting comments and blocking the user if another user is bothering you, so they can't view your videos or leave more comments. You can also turn comments off for any video or manage comments by requiring pre-approval before they get posted.
  • Report harassing users and content via YouTube’s reporting tool.

    To learn about tools available to you to help you manage your experience on the site, especially abusive users, please visit our Privacy and safety settings page.

    Sometimes criticism and insults can escalate into more serious forms of harassment and bullying. If you see something that makes you feel unsafe, tell an adult you trust straight away.

Change the privacy settings for your video

When you upload a video, by default it’s set as a "Public" video, which means that anybody can view it. You can easily change the privacy settings of your videos and manage who has access to viewing.

Change privacy setting

While you’re uploading the video, choose the setting in the "Privacy Settings" section. If you’ve already uploaded the video, change the privacy settings by following the steps below.

Computer

  1. Go to your Video Manager.
  2. Find the video you want to change, then click Edit.
  3. In the "Privacy Settings" drop-down menu, choose your setting:
    • Public
    • Unlisted
    • Private
  4. Click Save changes.

Android

  1. Sign in to YouTube on your Android device.
  2. Tap Account.
  3. Tap My videos (maybe called Library in newer version of the App).
  4. Next to the video you want to change, tap the menu icon.
  5. Tap Edit.
  6. In the Privacy drop-down menu, choose your setting:
    • Public
    • Unlisted
    • Private
  7. Tap the arrow at the top to save changes.

iOS

  1. Sign in to YouTube on your iOS device.
  2. Tap Account.
  3. Tap My videos (maybe called Library in newer version of the App).
  4. Next to the video you want to change, tap the menu icon.
  5. Tap Edit.
  6. In the Privacy drop-down menu, choose your setting:
    • Public
    • Unlisted
    • Private
  7. Tap the arrow at the top to save changes.

Tip: You can also do this with the Creator Studio app on your mobile device. Get started in the YouTube Creator Studio app Help Center.

Manage video privacy

When you upload a video, by default it’s set as a "Public" video, which means that anybody can view it. You can manage the privacy settings and control who has access to view this content.

Private Videos

A private video can only be seen by you and the users you select. The video won't appear on your channel or search results and will be invisible to other users. You can manage the users you want to share a private video with.

  1. Under the "Privacy Settings' drop-down menu, click Share.
  2. Add the email addresses of the people with whom you’d like to share your video.

To share private videos with other people, you need to have confirmed your name on YouTube.

PiXL Oracle IBM DofE Healthy-Schools-Col CBEBP World-Challenge Artsmark-Silver Institute of Physics