Staff Students Gallery Alumni

Students: Use Instagram Safely

Updated: Tue 17 Oct 2017   Share: Share on facebookShare on TwitterShare on MySpaceShare by Email

Links

Instagram Privacy and Safety Centre: https://help.instagram.com/369001149843369/

Report Harrassment or Bullying on Instagram: https://help.instagram.com/contact/584460464982589

Instagram Tips for Parents: https://help.instagram.com/154475974694511/?helpref=hc_fnav

Instagram requires everyone to be at least 13 years old before they can create an account! If you are under the age of 13, then you cannot create an Instagram account, and if you already have, then you should delete it (see below)

Security Tips

 Here are 6 things you can do to help keep your account safe:

  1. Pick a strong password. Use a combination of at least six numbers, letters and punctuation marks (like ! and &). It should be different from other passwords you use elsewhere on the internet.
  2. Change your password regularly, especially if you see a message from Instagram asking you to do so. During automated security checks, Instagram sometimes recovers login information that was stolen from other sites. If Instagram detects that your password may have been stolen, changing your password on Instagram and other sites helps to keep your account secure and prevent you from being hacked in the future.
  3. Never give your password to someone you don't know and trust.
  4. Make sure your email account is secure. Anyone who can read your email can probably also access your Instagram account. Change the passwords for all of your email accounts and make sure that no two are the same.
  5. Log out of Instagram when you use a computer or phone you share with other people. Don't check the "Remember Me" box when logging in from a public computer, as this will keep you logged in even after you close the browser window.
  6. Think before you authorize any third-party app.

What can I do if someone is impersonating me on Instagram?

Instagram takes safety seriously. If someone created an Instagram account pretending to be you, you can report it to us. Make sure to provide all the requested info, including a photo of your government-issued ID.

If you have an Instagram account, you can report it to us from within the app.

We only respond to reports sent to us from the person who's being impersonated. If someone you know is being impersonated, please encourage that person to report it.

Note: If you're having trouble uploading a photo of your ID from a mobile phone, please try submitting the form from a computer.

How do I delete my account?

When you delete your account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently removed. If you'd just like to take a break, you can temporarily disable your account instead.

After you delete your account, you can't sign up again with the same username or add it to another existing account, and we can't reactivate the account.

To permanently delete your account:

  1. Go to the Delete Your Account page. If you're not logged into Instagram on the web, you'll be asked to log in first.
  2. Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you deleting your account? and re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu.
  3. Click or tap Permanently delete my account.

If you'd like to delete a different account, click the username in the top-right of the Delete Your Account page and select Log Out. Log back in as the account you want to delete and follow the directions above.

For security reasons, we can't delete an account for you. You’ll need to be able to log into your account to delete it. If you can't remember your password or username, see some tips for logging in.

How do I block or unblock someone?

To block someone:

  1. Tap their username to open their profile
  2. Tap https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/t39.2365-6/13065889_1545931655713146_1495072372_n.png(iPhone/iPad) or https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/t39.2365-6/13176354_1705191439719708_984777276_n.png(Android)
  3. Tap Block User

To unblock someone, follow steps 1-2 above and then tap Unblock User.

People aren't notified when you block them. Learn more about blocking people.

Note: You can block someone using the Instagram app on your phone or tablet, but not on the web.

How do I set my photos and videos to private so that only approved followers can see them?

By default, anyone can view your profile and posts on Instagram. You can make your posts private so that only followers you approve can see them. If your posts are set to private, only your approved followers will see them in the Photos tab of Search & Explore or on hashtag or location pages. Posts can't be set to private from a desktop computer.

To set your posts to private from the Instagram app:

iPhone or Windows Phone

Go to your profile by tapping icon
Tap icon
Turn on the Private Account setting

Android

Go to your profile by tapping icon
Tap icon
Turn on the Private Account setting

Things to keep in mind about private posts:

  • Private posts you share to social networks may be visible to the public depending on your privacy settings for those networks. For example, a post you share to Twitter that was set to private on Instagram may be visible to the people who can see your Twitter posts.
  • Once you make your posts private, people will have to send you a follow request if they want to see your posts, your followers list or your following list.
  • Follow requests appear in icon Activity, where you can approve or ignore them.
  • If someone was already following before you set your posts to private and you don't want them to see your posts, you can block them.
  • People can send a photo or video directly to you even if they’re not following you

Reporting harassment or bullying on Instagram.

If an account is established with the intent of bullying or harassing another person or if a photo or comment is intended to bully or harass someone, please report it. You can also learn what to do if you think someone is pretending to be you or someone else on Instagram.

Once you've reported the abuse, consider blocking the person.

Learn how to report other accounts or posts that don't follow our Community Guidelines.

What should I do if someone is asking me to send or share an unpleasant or sexual picture of myself on Instagram?

Never send sexual photos — or anything else you wouldn’t want other people seeing — to anyone, ever, even if you feel very close to the person asking for them. And if anybody asks you for them – tell a parent, a teacher or an adult you trust. They will be able to help you.

If you’re under the age of 18, it’s especially important for you to know that sharing nude or sexually explicit images of minors — on the web, on mobile phones, by mail or any other way — is illegal and could have serious legal and life-changing consequences for both the creator of the images and anyone who requests them.

What should I do if someone is threatening to share things I want to keep private (ex: photos or videos)?

If someone is threatening to share things you intended to be private and asking you to send them money or anything else, you have options:

  • Tell an adult who you trust, such as a teacher, parent or other family member. They will be able to help you think through what to do.
  • Report this person to us.
  • Block this person. Depending on your privacy settings, people on Instagram can see a list of your followers and who you follow. Once you block someone, they no longer have access to your profile.

    The safest thing you can do is never share something you wouldn’t want other people seeing, even if you feel like you trust the person asking you to share.

PiXL Oracle IBM DofE Healthy-Schools-Col CBEBP World-Challenge Artsmark-Silver Institute of Physics