Staff Students Gallery Alumni

Students: Chat safely on Snapchat

Updated: Tue 17 Oct 2017   Share: Share on facebookShare on TwitterShare on MySpaceShare by Email

Links

Snapchat Safety Centre: https://www.snapchat.com/safety/

Snapchat Report a Safety Concern: https://support.snapchat.com/en-GB/i-need-help

Snapchat Terms of Service: https://www.snapchat.com/terms

Please note that no one under 13 is allowed to create an account or use the Snapchat Service.

Safety tips and resources

Staying safe on Snapchat is everyone's responsibility. See below for some helpful tips and resources.

  • Be kind and respectful. Be thoughtful about what you Snap and don't send people things they don't want to receive.
  • Remember, anyone can take a screenshot of a Snap, or simply use another camera to take a picture of a Snap that appears on their screen. It’s also worth noting that Story viewers or Snap recipients may be able to remove effects (such as doodles and stickers) from your Snaps if they’re using a jailbroken phone or other means. It’s best not to use a doodle to cover up anything you wouldn’t want friends to see.
  • Check your privacy settings to choose who can send you Snaps and view your Stories.
  • If you experience harassment or bullying,  block  the person and report it to us. Also, check out ConnectSafely's information on cyberbullying.
  • Keep your password safe. Don't share your password with other people, applications or websites. Use a different password for every service you use.
  • Read our Community Guidelines and help your friends follow them as well. If you experience something upsetting, let us know and tell a parent or trusted adult.

My Account Was Hacked

If your Snapchat account is experiencing suspicious behaviour, such as:

  • Spam sent from your account
  • If you were alerted that someone logged into your account from a different location, IP address or device
  • Having to continually re-login to the app
  • Having contacts added to your list without your permission
  • If the mobile number or email address associated with your Snapchat account was changed without your consent

... it is possible that your account may have been hacked.

If you believe your account has been compromised, please change your password as soon as possible and verify  that the email address and mobile number associated with your account are accurate in Snapchat settings. You can request a password reset link, sent via text or email, by tapping "Forgot your password?" on the login screen.

Select a complex and unique password that is at least eight characters in length, with a mix of numbers, symbols and capital and lower-case letters. Avoid using your name, username, mobile number, birthday or any other personal information in your new password. If you have used the same password for other services, we encourage you to change those passwords to something unique as well.

If you have already changed your password to a secure combination, there is no need to contact us. However, if you are still having trouble with your account, please click here. We also encourage you to activate login verification, also known as two-step authentication. This is an optional feature that helps keep your Snapchat account more secure. Please click here  to find out more.

Please never give your Snapchat account details to an unofficial website, as it could compromise your account and information. Some phishing websites may look very similar to the official Snapchat page. If you need to manage your account settings, please do so through the official app or by logging in to the official Snapchat page here.

Changing Your Privacy Settings

Customise who can send you Snaps and see your Stories in Settings.

By default, only users you add to your friends list can send you Snaps. If a Snapchatter you haven't added as a friend tries to send you a Snap, you'll receive a notification that they added you, but you will not receive the Snap they sent unless you add them to your friends list.

How to change who can send me Snaps

1. Tap iconat the top of your camera screen.
2. Tap icon in the top right-hand corner of your profile screen.

Snapchat screenshot

3. Scroll down to the "Who can…" and tap "Contact me".

Snapchat settings screenshot

4. Tap "My Friends" or "Everyone" to update who can send you Snaps.
Please note: if you select "Everyone", even Snapchatters who you haven't added will be able to send you Snaps.

5. Tap the back button to save your selection.

Send me snaps screenshot

How to change who can see My Story

1. Tap https://support-tools.storage.googleapis.com/Ghost_white_icon-863326664.pngat the top of your camera screen.
2. Tap https://support-tools.storage.googleapis.com/Android_Gear_icon-123251443.jpg in the top right-hand corner of your profile screen.
3. Scroll down to "Who Can…" and tap "View My Story".

Who can screenshot

4. Tap "My Friends" or "Everyone" to update who can view your Story. Tap "Custom" to block specific friends from viewing your Story.
Please note: if you select "Everyone", even Snapchatters who you haven't added will be able to view your Story.

View my Story

5. Tap the back button to save your selection.

Deleting and Blocking Friends

If you block a Snapchatter, they will no longer be able to view your Story or send you Snaps and Chats.

To block a Snapchatter who is your Friend follow the steps below:

1. Tap 'My Friends' on the Profile screen.

2. Tap on their name.

3. Tap https://support-tools.storage.googleapis.com/Friends_Gear_icon-506011380.jpg below their name and select "Block" to prevent them from sending you Snaps or Chats and viewing your Story.

To block a Snapchatter who chatted you follow the steps below:

1. Swipe left on the name of the Snapchatter who chatted you to open the Chat screen.

2. Tap icon

3. Tap "Block" to prevent them from sending you Snaps or Chats and viewing your Story.

Tap to view screenshot

To block a Snapchatter who added you follow the steps below:

1. Tap 'Added Me' on the Profile screen.

Added me screenshot

2. Tap their name, then tap https://support-tools.storage.googleapis.com/Friends_Gear_icon-506011380.jpg next to their name – or simply swipe left on their name.

3. Press "Block" to prevent them from sending you Snaps or Chats and viewing your Story.

Block screenshot

If you would like to unblock a Snapchatter:

1. Tap the https://support-tools.storage.googleapis.com/Ghost_white_icon-863326664.pngat the top of the Camera screen.

2. Then tap https://support-tools.storage.googleapis.com/Friends_Gear_icon-506011380.jpg and scroll down to "Account Actions" and tap "Blocked".

3. You should see a list of Snapchatters who are currently blocked. Simply tap the X next to their name to unblock them!

Please note: depending on your privacy settings, after you've unblocked a Snapchatter, you both may need to re-add each other as friends to send Snaps and Chats back and forth. A grey pending Snap or Chat icon may appear if you have not added each other yet.

Opting Out of Find Friends

If you do not want friends to find you on Snapchat through your phone number, you can opt out of “Find Friends.”

Tap https://support-tools.storage.googleapis.com/Android_Gear_icon-123251443.jpg on the upper right corner of the Profile screen.

find friends screenshot

Tap 'Mobile Number'.

Mobile number screenshot

Tap the icon next to 'Allow my friends to find me' to unlink your phone number from the Find Friends feature.

Allow frineds to find me screenshot

PiXL Oracle IBM DofE Healthy-Schools-Col CBEBP World-Challenge Artsmark-Silver Institute of Physics