Year 8

May I extend a very warm welcome to parents, carers and students of year 8. It is our aim to embed the Bulmershe ethos and core values into our year group by rewarding the positives and building relationships between home and school. 

The second year of secondary education will focus on students developing their skills and knowledge across a wide range of subjects at KS3. Students are also given the opportunity of broadening their curriculum and taking more responsibility for their learning, behaviour and progress. We strive to make the transition from Year 7 to Year 8 a smooth one, offering continued support and guidance from the form tutors who are a constant within in the team.

I encourage you to support your child's progress at Bulmershe by discussing what they are learning and supporting them with their homework. Encourage independence and resilience; they will find things hard and get things wrong but that's OK and together we will support them to get it right.

We hope that this page will support children and parents alike, providing you with a point of contact for the Year 8 tutor and pastoral team, and other useful information.

Mr Whearity

The Year 8 Team

Assistant Headteacher Year 8

Mr R Staton rstaton@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Head of Year 8

Mr A Whearity awhearity@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Year 8 Engagement Manager

Mr Noye mnoye@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Year 8

Mrs S Obbialo soblialo@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Tutor Team

8B4 - Mr B Hird -  bhird@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk 

8MU1 - Mr D Andrew - dandrew@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

8En7 - Miss G Thain - gthain@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

8M4 - Mrs S Obialo -  sobialo@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk 

8M2 - Miss K Straw - kstraw@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

8C4 - Mr R Majonga - rmajonga@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

8C3 - Mrs S Dhar - sdhar@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

8En6 - Ms V Shearing - vshearing@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

8A5 - Mr E Crane - ecrane@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

8En9 - Miss K Elizabeth - kray@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Pastoral Team

If you have any concerns regarding your child's education or welfare in school, please contact your child’s form tutor in the first instance and copy in the Head of Year and Engagement Manager

 

Pupil Premium students in Year 8

There may be financial assistance available for Pupil Premium pupils for school trips and other activities but individual enquiries to the school should be made regarding this assistance.

Please contact the school office on 0118 9353353 or alternatively, email reception@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk who will pass on your enquiry to Mr Staton, Assistant Headteacher who manages Pupil Premium funding.

Key Dates 23-24

Y8 Curriculum Evening- Please click here to see the Y8 Curriculum presentation

Y8 Parents Evening X Band- Thursday 25th April 2024 (4pm - 7pm) - Online

Y8 Parents Evening Y Band- Thursday 2nd May 2024 (4pm - 7pm) - Online

 

Documents

Page Downloads Date  
Year 8 Reading List 25th Sep 2023 Download
Yr 8 Curriculum Evening Presentation 2023 11th Oct 2023 Download